Housemans Shaft Engine House at South Phoenix Mine DES01_02_010
The roofless shell of Houseman's Shaft Engine House at South Phoenix Mine, Minions, Linkinhorne, Cornwall. List entry number: 1140490. Photographed by Eileen Deste. Date range 1960-1976. The mine was originally opened as Wheal Prosper in the 1830s. In 1836 it was amalgamated with other small mines to form the Cornwall Great United Mines and was later renamed Wheal Phoenix and then South Phoenix. Copper was originally mined at the site, although, as reserves of this dimished, the mine changed to extracting tin. This engine house was added to the site in the mid-19th century. The mine closed in the early 20th century and the engine house in now the Minions Heritage Centre.
© Historic England Archive
Stott Park Bobbin Mill N140031
STOTT PARK BOBBIN MILL, Cumbria. General view lit at twilight. This fully-working mill is a unique survivor of the many Lakeland mills which turned bobbins for the Lancashire textile industry. Using timber coppiced from the surrounding woodlands, it operated commercially from 1835 until 1971, diversifying into products from cotton reels to rungs for naval rope ladders and toggles for Second World War duffel coats.
© Historic England